eight wrong assumptions about born again christians

I hate when people assume certain things about born again christians without getting to know who them individually. You probably hate that too! Brett Shoemaker wrote Whenever people figure out one is a pastor at a Christian church, they tend to always assume the following:

1.Cussing around is a no-no.Really?

you feel the need to change your attitude/language around born again, but you don’t need to try and be on “good behavior” when together. Typically, some are not offended by your language and its not like they have never heard it before. would rather you just be yourself than trying to be someone else .

2.They don’t like the gays.I understand why you may have gotten this impression considering some of the ridiculous Christians out there. But, christ love them. To be honest, I don’t know why so many of my Christian brothers and sisters elevate this specifically over everything else. When it comes down to it, pastors love homosexuals just as much as I love you. wish Christians would fight as passionately against terrorism and sex trafficking as they do to homosexuality.

3.They don’t drink alcohol.Now you won’t catch me passed out on the floor drunk, but to assume that I don’t drink at all because of my faith is a bit of an overstatement. After all, the first miracle Jesus did was turn water into wine,He knows how to keep the party going.

4.THEY don’t like to have fun.This probably has a lot to do with rule #3. Because “I don’t drink” then it can be assumed that I don’t like to have fun. Quite the contrary, it just means I have learned to have fun without the need of over intoxicating myself.

5.pastors are judging you because you act differently than me.If I have come to realize one thing it is that nobody is perfect. Don’t worry about trying to hide your flaws or your differences because Iborn agains are not judging you anyways. Those who judge will be judged and I don’t want any part of that.

6.pastors are ignorant or uneducated about beliefs other than my own.Actually, it is not “my way or the highway.” Obviously, I, like the rest of Christians, spend most of my time trying to understand my own faith, but to say that pastors have shut my eyes to everything else in the world is absurd. Don’t assume they have no clue of what exists outside of Christianity.

7.Born agains think they are better than you.Somehow, because I am Christian, you assume I believe I am better than you. I understand you might get this impression from some of those who wear the Christian name tag, but humility is one of Christianity’s greatest attributes. I don’t think I am better than you regardless of who you are or what you’ve done. We are all on our own journey and everyone’s look a little bit different.

Brett Shoemaker

